The New Service Standard

For some, there are 2 kinds of people in business.  Those that return phone calls and those who don’t.  Most people carry a cell phone, PDA, laptop, GPS and an IPOD. Yet, only half of the people I know actually return calls within a reasonable amount of time.  Does all this technology enhance our accessibility and response times or does it hinder it, because we are all carrying too many devices we don’t know how to use.  It seems like that you can get your phone call answered faster if you just e-mail somebody but then you have to contend with half of your e-mails getting eaten up by spam filters.  Don’t get me wrong, I love technology.  My feeling is that “technology doesn’t make the person better; the person makes the technology.  What I mean by that is that if use technology in business, then use it to enhance your service, not sabotage it.

 

